Melaka Facts

Melaka State Emblem

There are five colours in the Melaka State Emblem; red, blue, yellow, green and brown. The five keris in the state emblem symbolises the five prominent Malay warriors during the Melaka Sultanate, Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekir and Hang Lekiu. The yellow crescent and star in the centre indicate that Islam is the official religion of Melaka.

Melaka’s Official Flower

The Melaka state flower is Kesidang with its scientific name of Vallaris Glabra belongs to the Apocynaceae family in the flower segregation.The Kesidang’s small, white flowers grow in panicles of several blossoms in each bunch. Kesidang flower is also used as decorative flowers in entertainment events and honour locations.

Melaka’s Flag

The Melaka Flag incorporates, the colours of the Malaysian flags; red, white, yellow and blue, to assert that Melaka is a member state of Malaysia.